Changing the conversation about health

Scientific Advisory Committee

Chair: Professor Stephen Holgate

Stephen is MRC Professor of Immunopharmacology at the University of Southampton. After qualifying in Medicine in London, he pursued a research career on the mechanisms of asthma and allergy involving a wide range of different approaches. He has a particular interest in the toxicology of air pollutants and the roles of viruses and allergens as drivers of airway inflammation and remodelling. His work has resulted in over 1000 peer reviewed publications and an h index of 149. He has been President of the British Society for Allergy and Clinical Immunology, the British Thoracic Society and is currently President of the British Association for Lung Research and the Collegium Internationale Allergologicum. He has been Chair of MRC Population and Systems Medicine Board, the MRC Translational Research Group, Member of MRC and NERC Strategy Boards and Chaired the Clinical, Health and Biological Sciences Main Panel of the REF2014. He is a Trustee of the British Lung Foundation, Cancer Research UK and the Kennedy Trust. In 2003 he cofounded Synairgen, a drug discovery company for respiratory disease and currently chairs the Defra Hazardous Substances Advisory Committee. His contributions have been recognised by a number of awards including The King Faisal International Prize in Medicine and the J Allyn Taylor International Prize in Medicine. He was a Founder Member of the Academy of Medical Sciences, served on its Council and founded the Clinical and Veterinary Section of the Academie Europea. In 2011 Stephen was awarded CBE in recognition of his contributions to clinical science.