Changing the conversation about health

Annual Conference 2012 – Healthy Ageing : Radical New Solutions

Thanks to all who attended our Annual Conference at the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists London and helped to make it such an inspiring day.

This year’s conference was attended by over 220 patients, students and health practitioners.  80 of you came to the pre-conference workshops and 190 sat down to dinner with our VIP guest.

We heard from experts on a wide range of subjects, from Prof Elizabeth Blackburn’s latest research into telomeres, to Innovations Prize winner Fit as a Fiddle‘s Community projects.  We were impressed with Michael Pittilo Prize winner, Joshua Harvey’s essay on encouraging Healthy Aging and motivated by descriptions of current radical approaches on the ground.

You can also download the whole conference brochure  or see photos from the day on Flickr.

Pre-conference workshops held on 2nd May

Workshop 1: Women, Health and Ageing

Workshop 2: Back to Health: neuro-musculoskeletal conditions and effective exercise

Workshop 3: Ahead of the game: Anticipating and meeting the needs of an ageing population

Workshop 4: Herbal medicine

Conference Speakers

Dr Anthony Falconer, President, Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists 

Lord Walton of Detchant

Dr Michael Dixon, Chairman, College of Medicine 

 Sir Graeme Catto, President, College of Medicine

Professor David Oliver, National Clinical Director for Older People Services, Department of Health 

 Professor Chris Drinkwater CBE, Emeritus Professor of Primary Care Development, Northumbria University 

Professor Dr Elizabeth Blackburn, 2009 Nobel Prize Winner and International Expert on Ageing and Telomeres

Delia Meth-Cohn, Editorial Director CEMEA, Economist Intelligence Unit 

Dr Chris Manning, College of Medicine Mental Health Policy Lead

Professor Steve Field, Chair of NHS Future Forum and former Chair of the Royal College of General Practitioners

Bishop Lindsay Urwin OGS

Dr Harry Brunjes, Vice President, College of Medicine

Josh harvey, University of Oxford, Winner of the 2012 Michael Pittilo Student Essay Competition

Hugh MacPherson, Senior Research Scientist, University of York

Professor David Peters, College of Medicine Faculty for Self Care

Simon Mills, College of Medicine Faculty for Self Care

Dr Brian Fisher

Hazel Stuteley

Richard Brown, President, British Chiropractic Association; Co-Chair, College of Medicine Neuro-musculoskeletal Faculty

Nursing and caring for an ageing population – Professor Donna Kinnair DBE, Chief Nurse, NHS South East London

Dr Amit Bhargava, Crawley Commissioning Consortia Chair

Professor Aidan Halligan, Vice President, College of Medicine